ReBand…A New School Year, A New Gig

September 21, 2008

I Was Right Again

Filed under: Uncategorized — reband @ 10:40 pm
Tags:

Like I expected, I’m not fond of middle school pep rallies. It was mostly people encouraging the 6-8th graders to scream their little heads off and being upset when they wouldn’t until you wanted them to watch something or tell them something and then being upset when they wouldn’t stop screaming their little heads off. On the up side, you can always rely on the “Hey Song” to bring a crowd together.

I also had the 6th grade instrument information meeting with the 6th grade parents and some of the sixth graders. The crowd was decent and the music reps from the local places behaved themselves for the most part. Hopefully that will continue until all the kids have instruments.  Once I figure out what they are going to play, they go get them. I spoke a bit too, and I think everything went pretty well. I answered questions after the meeting for about 10 minutes until everyone got bored enough to let me go home to my family.

Tomorrow I have to get the band shirts ordered by 11:00 AM and get some music copied so I can get the 7th and 8th graders practicing. They really haven’t had anything to work on at home and I know that is part of my problems with them. I’m hoping to finish all the testing for 6th grade by the end of the week, but I’m not real optimistic. Most likely it will be Tuesday of next week. I wonder what I’m going to keep them busy with tomorrow. I guess it’s time to go find myself a musical.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

