ReBand…A New School Year, A New Gig

September 17, 2008

Pep Rally Tomorrow!!!

Filed under: Uncategorized — reband @ 9:44 pm
Tags: , , ,

Tomorrow I begin my further indoctrination into the life of a middle school teacher. I have my first MS pep rally. The last place that I taught middle school they didn’t have pep rallies because they thought that the kids might riot. I guess that might be part of the reason I’m not exactly pumped up about ours tomorrow. One of the other reason is that there is not a schedule yet. Yep, the thing is tomorrow. Hopefully I’ll have that, you know, BY THE TIME THE THING IS SUPPOSED TO HAPPEN!!! I emailed the cheer coach who is supposedly in charge of this little horror-in-waiting and got a response back that she was working on it. OooooooooooKay. For these things I have to set up the band chairs and stands and get the 8th grade band to play a few numbers while only the cheer coach seems to know what else is going on. I’m honestly not at all sure what to expect from this little event. Hopefully the rest of the day will allow me to accomplish some things. I can stand pep rallies only slightly better than picture days.

In 6th grade today, I continued through the percussion selection tests. This is going to take a while. I also passed out reminder slips for the Instrument Information meeting that will happen soon. In the last two days I had two more vendors contact me and ask if they could join in. Hopefully they will all be good and not bash each other. I’ll need to print out the materials for that tomorrow in my planning as well at the scale requirements. It seems that a large number of my 7th graders feel that they have a shot at qualifying for all-state. They have to audition for me first, but I’m not nearly as confident as they are for that type of success at this point. I will listen to them and give them a shot. I do think a lot of them could make Districts, so that’s what I’m going to strive for.

Apparently the administrators have started doing observations now. At lunch, the art teacher was replaying hers, as we questioned her about how she though it went. It will be interesting to see how it all works out. From what I understand, the only real requirement for music teachers from our principal’s viewpoint is competence. They only usually stay for about 20 minutes and I figure I can at least fake that for 20 minutes. I’m really not worried about his observations, but I’m somewhat apprehensive about the vice principal. I’m sure it won’t be a big deal. I can’t even remember how many observations I have had, but they always seem to work out fine.

By the way, it seems there was fire in Mr. Weller’s middle school band room that really should be addressed. I’d help myself, but I’m so not in tune with this level of literature at this time that I don’t think I could really be of use.

2 Comments »

  1. Too funny about not knowing the start time of the pep rally. Somehow as a student I thought that teachers and school administrators had it all together and ran the school like a clock. Now being a teacher and seeing the inner workings of a school and district administration, I am amazed at the number of on-the-fly decisions and poorly planned events.

    Comment by Stengel99 — September 23, 2008 @ 12:27 am | Reply

  2. Thanks for stopping in. Yeah, In fairness, the person who had normally run the pep rally planning is not longer at the school and this is the first one that they had to plan…However, it might have been planned before that day.

    Comment by reband — September 23, 2008 @ 9:35 pm | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

