ReBand…A New School Year, A New Gig

September 2, 2008

Tomorrow is Picture Day!!! (I hate picture day)

Filed under: Uncategorized — reband @ 10:10 pm
Tags: ,

Day 6 has come and gone and things are beginning to settle. That being said, here comes picture day. Before I get to that though, today should at least be discussed. Introducing the instruments to the beginners has been a lot of fun so far, but it sure has taken longer than I had hoped. Again, I’m sure that my expectations are uneducated. This is the first time I have done this. The kids (about 40 in a class) have so many questions and take such a long time looking over the instruments when they are passed around that I haven’t been able to do more than one in a day. Today was clarinet day. It was fun showing them how the embouchure should basically be and playing a little bit for them. It was great seeing their eyes light up as they tried to figure out where their fingers were really supposed to go. I feel like I want to get this stage of introducing and selecting instruments over with, but I know I’m going to miss that wonder and anticipation in their eyes.

Tomorrow is picture day (I hate picture day) and this particular picture day seems like it is lined up to be day that nobody will know what’s going on. With a new principal and me being new to the school, I certainly don’t have a clue. I didn’t get any emails about the procedures or if there are going to be any differences. I guess what I do know for sure is that tomorrow I’ll have to be more flexible than normal. Actually I anticipate that everything will work like it did last year, whatever that was like.

After this picture stuff is over I really hope that I can establish firm class procedures for getting set and playing for my 7th and 8th graders. So far I’ve had so much paperwork and such that it’s been at least 15 minutes into class before we start playing. I need to fix this quickly. I don’t think that there is any way that my kids will learn what I need them to if I can’t have them playing more. At the same time, so far I’ve enjoyed them so much more when they haven’t been playing. What can I say, I’m used to a lot more skilled players. I guess I’ll have to figure out how to get them that way…fast. I guess I should go pick out a tie if I’m going to be subjected to this picture day madness. I hate picture day.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

