ReBand…A New School Year, A New Gig

August 28, 2008

Week One: The End is Near

Filed under: Uncategorized — reband @ 11:20 pm
Tags: ,

Well, I’m starting to see the end of week one approaching. Everything has gone pretty well (except for one thing I’ll touch on later). I only have one class of the 6 that really isn’t seeming to catch the vision of wanting to do things well and cooperating. Of course, the other classes could just be in first week of school mode and really crush my spirit later on. Today we worked for about 10 minutes on breathing in the 7th and 8th grade classes and talked about the woodwind family and a little about the flute in the 6th grade. I’ll finish up with the flute tomorrow and maybe even get to the clarinet. I’ve continued to get a lot of council and guidance from fellow band directors which I am continually grateful for. Once thing that bothers me is that no one I’ve talked to is using any type of rubric for instrument testing (the type to decide what instruments might be best for kids). I have the feeling that this is going to come back and bite someone. I just hope it’s not me.

The thing that has taken up the most time is establishing the procedures that I like to run my programs with. I had forgotten how time consuming and difficult it can be to do this. It’s obviously one of the big downsides of new jobs. I can’t see how anyone can totally adapt the procedures of the previous person with them not still being there. Somewhere you’re going to run into something you’d like to do different or can’t accomplish as well therefore not be efficient or wise to try to emulate.

While I don’t miss some things, I’m remembering how great it is to have band parents to handle money and shirts and things like that. I’ve spent a great deal of time getting that stuff together. This is where I have been struggling. Not the getting stuff together part, but the handling the money part. I have had two days to turn checks and things in and both days I have done something wrong. Yesterday I miscounted the number of checks (and the total). Today I didn’t get a whole envelope of 14 checks turned in with the rest of them. Some of this is related to me not being familiar enough with what I need to do, but most of it is me being sloppy, something I simply must fix. I will fix it tomorrow.

Tomorrow I am going to try to sight read a few things and also look a bit closer into SmartMusic. I’m sure it will be a valuable tool, providing that I can understand it’s place and potential. Hopefully I’ll be able to hack my way through demoing the flute and clarinet tomorrow. If not, perhaps I’ll have a brass band. Would that really be so bad? Yeah, I guess it would be.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

