ReBand…A New School Year, A New Gig

August 25, 2008

Day 1

Filed under: Uncategorized — reband @ 8:27 pm
Tags: ,

Well Day 1 is now over. Just like many first day’s this one started off the night before by not sleeping real well. I’m sure I was snoozing by 12:30, but I went to be before 11:00. All and all, better than most years I suppose. I got to school and got some things read and then came the 6th graders. Many questions, but also timid with my class being the first or second of their entire middle school careers. Then came 8th grade. I knew some of them from visits from my last job and I think that I got the message across about my level of expectation. It’s going to be a challenge for me to know where they should really be after not doing MS in this area or for so long. The 7th grade have the most instrumental issues, but common ones. Too many clarinets and trumpets. I’ll take the clarinets, but the glut of trumpets I could do without. Hopefully I can get a couple of baritones or tubas out of them. All in all the ensembles (at least 7th and 8th grade) look to be in pretty good balance shape if I make a couple of adjustments.

I suppose I should get to the real heart of the reasoning behind this blog, the differences and adjustments from previous gigs. It does amaze me the similarity of the kids on the first day of school no matter the age. The freshmen in HS act like 6th graders, the 7th graders are like sophomores or some juniors, and the seniors and the 8th graders…well, OK seniors are really their own animals (and so are 8th graders!). The difference in performance output and expectations of course is different, but I’m going to struggle with the mindset of both. I don’t like the performance focus that is so strong so soon with HS band (especially marching band), but I don’t know how I’m going to handle the lengthy amount of time before and between performances in MS. Hopefully I’ll actually be able to teach musicianship in MS, even more than I was able to do in HS. Wouldn’t that be ironic. Well, tomorrow is Day 2 (of 180, but I’m honestly not really counting down), and I think I will probably go back and see how that one turns out. Even though no one is reading, I hope that this might be helpful for me or someone else someday.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

